Electric Verses

Etusivu : Welcome to Electric Verses! : Riina Katajavuori

Riina Katajavuori

Riina Katajavuori

Riina Katajavuori (b. 1968) first collection of poems Varkaan kirja (The Book of a Thief) appeared in 1992. Since that she has published three collections of poems, Kuka puhuu (Who’s Talking, 1994), Painoton tila (Weightless Space, 1998) and Koko tarina (The Whole Story, 2001). She has also written two books of prose.


When Smirnoff is finished
Brother and I go the bog to cry
he has a Russian memory too.

From Varkaan kirja (The Book of a Thief), 1992. Translated by the author.

  • When Smirnoff is finished
  • Truth or dare?
  • I am a bear and I am going to…
  • The lost sin
  • She named herself Thief
  • I want to turn
  • The critics, whose strong suit…
  • Long for the Diamond Merchant’s…
  • End of the road
  • The return
  • Advance
  • Winter trees night trees grief…
  • Perspective
  • Bareheaded
  • Message
  • A witness
  • No passing
  • When I close my eyes
  • This city is a disease
  • The changes
  • Departure of a Knight
  • Reflection
  • A Red-mouthed Bird
  • Theory and Practice
  • Credo